ePSXe crashes if there's an active internet connection....

Discussion in 'ePSXe Discussion' started by rhyxx, May 11, 2012.

1. rhyxx

rhyxx New Member

I've been using ePSXe for several years now, and have never had any problems with it, until now that is.

I just finished my new PC build and went to go run the emulator, only to have it crash. I've spent the last 3 days troubleshooting EVERYTHING possible to try find out what it could be... and it's simply one thing.

If there's an active internet connection when the computer starts, ePSXe crashes. If the cable is unplugged / adapter is disabled / etc., then it works absolutely fine.

Has anyone had any issues with this, or have seen anything like it?

I've tried disabling the onboard LAN and using a PCI and a PCI-E ethernet card, and both have done the same thing as the onboard LAN. Netplay is disabled (not even configured), DEP is disabled, and every other thing I could think of that would be causing it to crash has been looked at. But I have it down to just the internet, and it makes no sense to me whatsoever.

The log file is as shows; it crashes right at the last line when trying to load Suikoden II:

* Running ePSXe emulator version 1.7.0
    * Memory handlers init.
    * ePSXe: PSX BIOS loaded [bios\scph1001.bin].
    * Loading ISO Format [MDF/BIN/IMG2352] ok
    * First/Last track: 1 1
    * Track 1: (DATA) - Start 1: (00,02,00) - Length 48:31
    * NTSC cdrom detected. (SLUS_009.58)
    * Doing init gpu [0]...

pSX / psxfin works absolutely fine, so I can use that in the meantime, but I really like the customizability that ePSXe has that I can use my graphics card to really make the older games look great, something pSX can't do.

PCSX reloaded does the exact same thing that ePSXe does, by the way.

Here are my PC specs, if they would help for some reason. Thanks for your assistance. I appreciate anyone's help, and thanks in advance! If there's any other info you need, let me know.

---