Golden Sun - Dark Dawn

Discussion in 'DeSmuME Discussion' started by Razh, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Razh

Razh New Member

I'm new with Desmume and I only got it so I can play this game, which fails on No$.

There are 2 problems. There's this constant buzzing sound as soon as any text box appears. It first starts when I have to type in a character name, it goes away during that long ass intro, then returns as soon as Isaac starts dialogue. I can even hear the melody in the background.

Another problem is that the game is running slow. Sluggish kinda. Like it's all in slowmo.

If I'd go trial an error method, I would only waste time, so I'm asking for some recommendations. If I make it work in the mean time, I'll let you know. I'm not really an expert in playing on DS emulators, more like a casual gamer.

EDIT: And yeah, almost forgot, animations are shaky, but that's less of an issue compared to the other 2.

Btw, my specs:
    Win XP SP2
    AMD Athlon 65 x2 Dual Core 4200+
    2 GB RAM
    ATI Sapphire HD 3850 (512 RAM)

Anyway, I tried to find a thread about this game in this sub-forum and couldn't find anything, so I apologize if I missed it.
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  2. NGEmu.com Advertisement

3. SCHUMI_4EVER

SCHUMI_4EVER Hackin 'n Slashin Staff Member Award Winner!

The speed is most likely connected to your system being on the weak side. You could try increasing the frameskipping but I don't think it's going to help much.
    As the sound have you fiddled with any of the synched sound options? Perhaps theres one where it doesn't buzz.
  4. Razh

Razh New Member

No, sync methods didn't work. Just changed the buzz frequency. Activating Advanced SPU Logic, however, did. The only problem there is that menu and other SFX sound like ****. Fragmented and echoing. Activating Shut Up under Emulation makes the background music sound awesome, but yeah, no SFX. Does Shut Up remove all SFX, including the ones in battle?