Laptop vs Tablet

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion' started by Mikhail000, May 13, 2015.

  1. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    So i've been out of the loop for a few years regarding specs but I was wondering
    what can I get for the best bang for my buck between the £200-300
    to run windows, what's going offer the best performance / storage experience, I probably leaning more towards Intel® Celeron laptops as i3's seem a bit too pricey for me to justify, but as far as tablets / convertable touchscreen laptops go i'm completely blind, I don't know anything beyond Android and the Tegra X1 being the best mobile gpu / soc which is a null point since I want to be running windows anyway.
  2. NGEmu.com Advertisement

  3. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    I recently purchased a used Lenovo Thinkpad T420 with an I5 2520m and Nvidia NVS 4200m which is basically the business equivalent of a Nvidia Geforce 520m. It also has gbs of ram and a 1600x900res TN panel. It works perfectly fine for lighter/older gaming and blows those celeron based laptops out of the water. The kicker is I only paid $220 for the laptop on Amazon. The only extra thing I had to purchase was a Replacement battery since the battery that was in the laptop when I got it had been recalled by Lenovo. so that was an extra $70 on top of the $220 so it was a total of $290. Which should easily fit within your budget. since its a barely used thinkpad before I got it I don't think its going to have any issues minus that battery. Since its a thinkpad it will litterally last for years.

    Contact the seller on amazon before ou buy to double check the specs to make sure you get both the 1600x900 res screen and the Nvidia NVS 4200m. As there are plenty out there that are just a lousy 1366x768 res screen and just have the intergrated intel hd graphics which just aren't up the task.
  4. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    Is there anything similair with usb 3.0 with the same screen rez?
  5. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    You can add a usb 3.0 port or 2 via the express card slot if you want.
  6. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    Found out the S series T420S includes a single usb 3.0 port, the only one I could find on Amazon with the 4200m was model no: NV8P4UK but over £1300 but it seems there are other model no with the same, I guess for over regions than the UK, so the hunt begins :)

    http://www.is-ok.de/Lenovo/Lenovo_ThinkPad_T420s_Serie.htm
  7. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    S basically means its a slim model.

    As I said just double check with the sellers before you buy to make sure it has the correct specs you want.
  8. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    Hows the hunt for a laptop coming along?
  9. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    There's some guy selling around 30-40 of them on ebay atm, just waiting on confirming details after contacting them today.
  10. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    Yeah make sure you get the right specs before buying
  11. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
  12. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    Not a bad price for it. I got mine for $220 for the laptop and $70 for a replacement battery since the one I got had been recalled by Lenovo. so roughly spent $290 on mine
  13. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    If I resize the main os parition back to 160gb then have 160gb free for another partition will I be able to clone the windows 7 partition onto the free second partition under a different drive letter and update it to windows 10 without effecting the first windows 7 partition?, i'll probably clone the windows 10 partition to a external drive or nas once I know it runs without issue, if the bios allows ethernet or usb boot.
  14. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    No idea as I have never done anything like that
  15. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can you have a look at the bios boot options for me please, does it offer an option to boot via expresscard if I put in a usb 3.0 card
  16. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    I did not see anything but do you really have to boot via USB 3? Seeing as how USB 3devices work over USB 2 perfectly fine.
  17. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    Had it two days now getting around 25-30fps in Dolphin for Wii games had to install some DirectX update to get DirectX with it working even though it's fully updated to sp1, seems to give 3-5fps benefit over OpenGL or it's a placibo effect either way it seems more constant, dxdialog kept reporting the gpu as the intergrated Intel one with optimus mode, changing it to discrete switched it over to the nvidia one.
    Playing the F1 2012 steam demo I can get around 29fps with 720p res and lower settings but it gets red hot around 90+C.

    WEI score gave me
    pro: 7.1
    ram: 5.9
    graphics: 5.1
    gaming graphics: 6.5
    hdd: 4.8
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
  18. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    You might have to use throttle stop to help balance cpu speeds vs cpu temps. Yeah I had to disable the intel igp in the bios to get some games to use the dedicated nvidia card myself. The CPU can go get has high as 98 in temps. I had a problem where my CPU would constantly throttle itself to x8 mulitpler leaving my cpu running at only 800mhz even when plugged in which is why I had to grab throttle stop in the first place to help even out the kinks. putting throttle stop between 20 and 25 mutlitper is the best for keeping the cpu temps below 90 for when you don't need the full power of the system.

    My WEI stats are

    WEI 5.1
    CPU: 7.1
    RAM 5.9
    Graphics 5.1
    Gaming graphics 6.5
    HDD 5.9
  19. Yeloazndevil

    Yeloazndevil Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,628
    Likes Received:
    597
    I would also suggest opening it up and replacing the thermal paste with quality stuff
  20. Lasnap

    Lasnap Elven-Dragon Mage

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    52
    The Thinkpad T420 is known to run on the hot side to be honest. 90+ is quite common for the laptop

    Ok after searching google for a bit it seems like replacing the thermal grease will drop the temps from 95+ down to less then 80

    Here is a good tutorial on replacing the thermal paste

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/t420-thermal-paste-issue-replacement-tutorial.676055/

    Before I do it to my Thinkpad I need to see if I have any thermal paste left otherwise I am going to need to buy another tube of it.
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
  21. Mikhail000

    Mikhail000 New Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'd like to fix it but I'd probably end up breaking it on the over hand
    I might upgrade the internal HDD, I was only getting 70MB/s Read/Write
    from the ST9320328CS whilst my wdbu6y0020bbk-eesn over
    the StarTech ECUSB3S11 ExpressCard was giving me 110MB/s,
    playing Umbrella Chronicles and Darkside I was getting a lot of lag
    and audio stutter on the ST932032CS but was almost gone on the wdbu6y0020bbk-eesn.

Share This Page