Will the emulator run fast on my computer?

Discussion in 'PCSX2 Forum' started by refraction, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Ref: You mention XP - what about Vista? The Video card drivers are out of beta stage for ATI and I can confirm that the non-vm works. The VM version doesn't work because it can't change SE_Memory_LOck or whatever it is...
  2. refraction

    refraction PCSX2 Coder Contributors Award Winner!

    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    19
    PCSX2 is not designed for vista, which is why ive neither got it down as supported or recommended.

    if someone wants to try it on their machine thats up to them, but our support focuses on XP
  3. Red-XIII

    Red-XIII I put the "E" in Evil

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just getting ready to build a new system as soon as I get the old tax refund back. I'm hoping it's gonna be able to get some smokin' FPS with this emu. From the looks of the list here seems I should be in the clear but just gotta make sure.

    Here's the deal:

    DFI INFINITY NF SLI-M2 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Windsor 2.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor

    2x PNY 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory

    2x eVGA 256-P2-N550 -T2 GeForce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card (4 teh SLI) =D

    APEVIA ATX-CW500WP4 ATX 500W Power Supply

    Gonna get some heatsinks for the video card ram chips and a third party heatsink/fan for the processor too.

    I'm thinkin' that should do pretty well with PCSX2, heh? :agree:
  4. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    how much you spending on that rig? What HDD, why on earth go Athlon; go with C2D, and what's with the 7600 GT in SLI? Buy a 7900GS and then later on upgrade to SLI if need be.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2007
  5. Red-XIII

    Red-XIII I put the "E" in Evil

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I'm getting all my parts from newegg. The ones i listed plus a case and some arctic silver that I left out will equal out to $833.58 after taxes and shipping.
  6. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    go with just 1 GeForce 7900 GT (or 7950) it's approximatley the same performance but you can upgrade to two eventually. if need be. decent price for the specs tho.
  7. mikeyjrd

    mikeyjrd New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    How well will this emu for this PC?

    opteron 175 @ 2.2ghz no-overclock
    Zalman CNPS7700-CU
    OCZ 2x1GB Plat. Ed. DDR400
    ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    EVGA 7900GT superclocked edition
    Antec P180 w/ 550watt power supply

    How much should i overclock to get the emu almost "fully" working

    very interested in trying this out for KOF XI & Gundam Seed Destiny 2 PLUS
    ...thanks
  8. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm... try it out and see. probably 40-60 fps in FFX?
  9. refraction

    refraction PCSX2 Coder Contributors Award Winner!

    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    19
    hmm, try this on for size.

    same kinda crap, you are asking how well itll work, i warned you not to ask that crap in this thread, the first post gives you a general idea, so try it for yourself instead of wasting our time asking.

    You have been warned
  10. NexXxus

    NexXxus it'se miku!

    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    just gsdx9.
    it supports pixelshader 1.3 only.
  11. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    most likely the mid-high end desktop PC's (like ones you build yourself, with proper components NOT put together by some commercial OEM) by next year will be able to pretty much get max FPS, maybe 2 years. It seems like there is enough processing power in the high end dual cores (Core 2, Athlon X2, FX), but nowadays the most a retail computer (best buy, future shop, staples, etc) has in it is like an e6300 with crap ram, or Geforce 7300's - things that might make a consumer with little knowledge think "ooo a core 2 duo with a Geforce), and - don't get me wrong, that's a decent combination ... but it's not the high end. They put those chips in to make money. Lots of people with high end systems, (Core 2's @3 ghz with Geforce 7800 or ATi X1800) probably experience 55-60 FPS in lots of tested games. You can buy a comp from aretailer for 2000 bucks and it might have even a pentium d in it. Well a PD for 2000 bucks is a complete rip.

    to summarize, it's always best to do some research and know what you're putting in. anyways that's my rant - hoepfully not too far off topic (we are allowed to discuss hardware here?)
  12. jih2000

    jih2000 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Geforce 6800 with unlocked pixel pipelines.
    Athlon XP2500
    512Mb DDR
    Windows XP

    I get around 5fps in Gran Turismo 4 Prologue
  13. skoreanime

    skoreanime Your resident reaper... Junior Contributor

    Messages:
    6,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ohhh, hehe, is that the Barton 2500? I still have mine, OC'd to the 3200 specs...ahh, the memories :) .
  14. Red-XIII

    Red-XIII I put the "E" in Evil

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I've pretty much decided on this setup:

    Linkworld 3210-04-C2628 Black/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

    BIOSTAR TForce 6100 AM2 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX RoHs compliant AMD Motherboard

    SAPPHIRE 100176L Radeon X1950PRO 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card

    LOGISYS Computer PS575XBK ATX12V 575W Power Supply

    2x pqi TURBO 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) Desktop Memory

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Windsor 2.2GHz Socket AM2 Processor

    ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler

    $786.02 after tax and shipping. Don't think I could do better for this price, plus it should be great for PCSX2. :bow:
  15. skoreanime

    skoreanime Your resident reaper... Junior Contributor

    Messages:
    6,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    It'll do you good in PCSX2, just OC that chip as far as you can. Judging from your cooler, around 2.5-2.7Ghz range would be realistic...but then again, that sounds like a cheap motherboard :eyespin:
  16. sinni800

    sinni800 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is a
    Intel Pentium D 805 @ 2,66 GHz
    nVidia GeForce 6800 GS

    @ ZeroGS 0.96.0 Plugin

    Interlace Enable: No
    Biinear Filtering: No
    AntiAlaising: None
    Size 800x600

    Kingdom Hearts 1 PAL GERMAN (Disc): Ingame around 10-15 FPS

    If i turn AntiAlaisung and Bilinear on, the framerate doesnt drop.

    You didnt have any compatibility of "Zone of the Enders" PAL EUR GER.

    So here it is..

    The Game is stable. Well. It runs at 6 Fps ingame. The Scenes run at 10 Fps. The Videos run fairly ok. Sound works. But the entire game is so slow that the sound goes slow too. But its like theres player one sample after another. Like that is a Midi. The graphics ingame are a little ... well.. you know when you see the screen. Perhaps my computer is to blame for these results. I dont know. I just tell you what i see.

    http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3267/zoeey7.jpg
    And no, this isnt the animation when being hit by the enemy :eyemove:
  17. dashboardy

    dashboardy Hardware Enthusiast

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would using a NTSC BIOS with a PAL game cause rendering issues?
  18. General Plot

    General Plot Familiar Face

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Signal format is handled by the game and not BIOS, so PAL games will run just fine on an NTSC BIOS.;)
  19. Chrn0

    Chrn0 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I got some problems with PCSX2 on my computer.

    Sorry about my english, I am not very good at it but I ll do my best :thumb:

    Here my cfg :

    Athlon64 3000+
    Aopen Aeolus Geforce 6600GT (single or SLI(x2))
    1GO ram corsair value
    Asus A8N SLI deluxe

    I ve got Guitar Hero and it works with PCSX2 but very slow, between 5 and 10 fps. But it is not realy slow, it lags a lot. I have a terrible latence between the moment when I type a key on my keyboard and the result on the screen.
    So it works but it is unplayable.

    Is that because my cfg is too weak?
    Thanks for your answers.
  20. Dirk

    Dirk New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Got :

    HP Pavilion ZD8000 series (Desktop Replacement Notebook)

    Pentium 4 Gigahertz
    1024 MB Ram
    Ati Mobility Radeon X600 128 MB

    the game Kingdom Hearts runs excellent,even the intro movie (50 FPS +) runs well

    ingame with aax2 around 15~30 FPS or higher

    with the latest ZeroGS Plugin
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page