Windows x64 Compatibility.

Discussion in 'Software Discussion' started by Squall-Leonhart, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gunna create a database of games / applications known to work and not work here as well as list games that do work but require specific installer adjustments.....

    Compatible
    Compatibility Flags will be Marked as required
    Run As Admin(If installed in OS Drive Program Files) - RA
    Disable Desktop Composition / Themes - DDC
    End Task Explorer (For 256 colour games) - ETE

    Os Compatibility - [95C,98MEC,NT4C,XPC,VistaC]

    3D0
    Uprising 2: Lead and Destroy - RA-98MEC (Use software install, no Glide Wrappers work on this game due to how to its usage of direct hardware functions)

    3DRealms
    Duke Nukem 3D - RA+Eduke32
    Max Payne - RA (Auto Run is 16bit but can be installed by launching setup.exe directly from the Disk1 directory)
    Max Payne 2 - RA
    Shadow Warrior - RA+JFShadow

    Atari
    Fahrenheit - RA?+Latest Tages Driver
    Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 - (Untested currently)

    Electronic Arts / EA Games
    Croc : Legend of the Gobbo's - RA
    Croc 2 - RA
    Need For Speed : High Stakes - RA+98MEC+IPLounge (stock pack minimum, you can choose not to install the iplounge but the d3d mode patches are needed)

    iD Software
    Doom 1/2 - RA+gzdoom
    Doom 3 - RA
    Quake 2 - RA+3.2patch+Q2CP_R6 or Beserker@Q2
    Quake 3
    Quake 4
    Strife - RA+gzdoom


    LucasGames
    Indiana Jones and the Infernal Machine -RA+Requires Installer replacement
    Star Wars: Battle for Naboo - RA
    Star Wars: Episode I Racer - RA+Requires Installer replacement
    Star Wars: Phantom Menace - RA+Requires Installer Replacement (None exists yet)
    Star Wars: Rogue Squadron - RA+Installer Replacement+Mudlord's patcher
    Star Wars: Starfighter - RA
    Star Wars: Xwing Series - RA+Requires Installer replacement and XWAHacker (for Xwing alliance obviously)

    Maxis
    Sim Town (CD ROM) 16bit installer, but run the simtown.exe from \WIN95\SIMTOWN\ in compatibility mode for windows 95 and it works fine.
    Simcopter: 16bit installer, but copy the dlls from the \setup\System to C:\Windows\System then run the Simcopter.exe off the cd. (Runs too fast, requires ClockLimit app, will update it when i remember the name of the app)
    The Sims - RA+ETE
    The Sims 2
    The Sims 3

    Microsoft Games

    Age of Empires 1/2 - RA+ETE
    Age of Empires 3
    Age of Mythology - RA
    Combat Flight Simulator - RA
    Fable
    FreeLancer
    Halo PC/CE
    StarLancer - RA
    Train Simulator - RA
    Urban Assault -RA

    RockStar Games
    Grand Theft Auto: 2 - RA+XPC+Latest Patch
    Grand Theft Auto: 3 - XPC+Latest patch
    Grand Theft Auto: Vice City - Latest Patch
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas - Latest Patch
    Grand Theft Auto: 4

    SCI
    Carmageddon 1 + Splatpack - Use Dosbox, or copy the install files to a folder and copy the DATA entire data folder into that new folder - RA-ETE
    Carmageddon 2 / TDR - RA

    Sierra
    Pharaoh- RA-ETE-98MEC
    Ground Control - RA
    Homeworld / Cataclysm - RA-NT4C (Configure the game to use OpenGL rather then Direct3D to prevent massive FPS hit while in menu's)
    Homeworld 2 - RA

    Yeti Studios

    GunMetal


    Incompatible
    (Installers Detect incompatible os or games are 16bit)
    3D0
    Uprising : Join or Die (Installer is 32bit but Detects the OS as NT regardless of compatibility)

    Maxis (16bit or DOS)
    Sim Ant
    Sim City
    Sim Earth
    Sim Farm
    Sim Park
    Sim Tower
    Streets of Sim City
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  2. NGEmu.com Advertisement

  3. gamefreak94

    gamefreak94 Registered Anime Hater Translator Award Winner!

    Messages:
    8,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't application/game compatibility also depend on the OS i.e. whether you're running XP x64 or Vista x64 for example
  4. Nar Matteru

    Nar Matteru Lurker

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others add to these lists?
  5. gamefreak94

    gamefreak94 Registered Anime Hater Translator Award Winner!

    Messages:
    8,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol sure. Hence why he created a thread so everyone could chip in and he'd add it to the first post.
  6. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    :p and driver, hardware etc.

    but im just compiling a list of stuff i know works on xp and xp64 and win 7 x64.
  7. Nar Matteru

    Nar Matteru Lurker

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Incompatible

    Maxis:
    Sim Tower doesn't work period :((
    Sim City (CD ROM) neither installer nor game can be run in dos mode under dosbox
    Sim Farm (CD ROM) ""
    Sim Ant (CD ROM) ""
    Sim Earth (CD ROM) ""
    Sim Park (CDROM) Doesn't work at all
    Streets of Sim City: I haven't got this to work since windows 98ish, not sure why I expected it to work now

    Compatible with workarounds
    Maxis:
    Sim Town (CD ROM) setup is broken, but run the simtown.exe from \WIN95\SIMTOWN\ in compatibility mode for windows 95 and it works fine. Figures the ****tiest one in the list would be the only one to work

    EDIT:
    Simcopter: autorun works, setup itself is broken, but copy the dlls from the \setup\System to C:\Windows\System then run the Simcopter.exe off the cd. It runs super fast and it causes your chopper to appear to wobble alot which ****s with your perception and causes you to crash. Looks even ****tier than I remembered.

    Still working on:
    SimSafari, the autorun.exe is 32 bit and the game's exe is 32bit its just the setup.exe thats 16 bit. Game gives a blank error message (actually 2) when trying to run directly off the cd

    I can't find my simcity 2000 disc, but thats not one of the obscure ones, and I'm sure someone else here has it laying around somewhere, but that should do it for the early maxis games, half of these arent even worth playing anyway, but I do miss simtower :(
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  8. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theres an app which limits the speed older games run at..... just can't remember the name of it...
  9. Titus03

    Titus03 Registered MSX user Award Winner!

    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mo'Slo 4BIZ, at least. Just tested with Windows 7 RC 64-bit and it worked.
  10. KrossX

    KrossX クロスエックス

    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    27
    I usually install this things outside ProgramFiles, so I don't remember if RA is required. Also, most oldies have the 16bit installer issue, there are workarounds for it.

    (Publisher, Developer)

    SEGA, OPeNBooK
    Yoot Tower ( or Sim Tower 2 ) Works. 8-bit display... but didn't have issues, nice.

    Maxis, OPeNBooK
    Sim Tower might work too, I will have get around the installation first.


    JoWood Productions, Arcane Studios
    Arx Fatalis Work

    Xicat Interactive, GRIN
    Ballistics Work

    Microsoft Game Studios, Zipper Interactive
    Crimson Skies Work, may require Timeslip's patch.

    Electronic Arts, Bullfrog
    Dungeon Keeper Work, 16bit installer issue if I remember correctly though.
    Dungeon Keeper 2 Work
    Sim Theme Park / Theme Park World Work.

    EA Games, Westwood Studios
    Emperor: Battle for Dune Work

    Interplay, Computer Artworks
    Evolva Work

    Infogrames, Rage Software
    Expendable Work, I get some slowdown after some min with this one for some reason.

    Interplay, Planet Moon Studios
    Giants Citizen Kabuto Work

    Virgin Interactive, Unique Development Studios
    Ignition Work, in 3dfx mode with a proper card or a Glide wrapper.

    Ubisoft, Frontier Development
    Infestation Work

    Interplay, Shiny
    Messiah Work, with latest update and the following command lines: -x -i +!

    LucasFilms Games / LucasArts
    Monkey Island 1-3 Work, just use ScummVM.
    Monkey Island 4 Work, needs custom installer.
    Star Wars Starfighter Work

    Fox Interactive, Digital Illusions
    Motorhead Work, I think it even has D3D support.

    Eidos Interactive, Core Design
    Project Eden Work

    Id Software
    Quake I, II, use a custom engine like DarkPlaces and Berserker respectively.
    Quake III Work

    Acclaim
    ReVolt Work

    Psygnosis, Attention to Detail
    Rollcage 1-2 Work

    Gathering, Croteam
    Serious Sam Work

    Maxis
    Sim City 2000, 3000, 4... Work.

    Eidos Interactive, Crystal Dynamics
    Soul Reaver, installer issue... and requires some patched dll for movie player... but can Work.
    Soul Reaver 2 Work.

    LucasArts, Factor5
    Star Wars Rogue Squadron Work, installer issue
    Star Wars Battle for Naboo Work, installer issue

    Microsoft Game Studios, Digital Anvil
    StarLancer Work
    FreeLancer Work

    EIDOS, Mucky Foot Productions
    Urban Chaos Work

    Nihon Falcom
    Ys I & II Complete Work, 8-bit display issue with some cards on Win7.
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  11. gamefreak94

    gamefreak94 Registered Anime Hater Translator Award Winner!

    Messages:
    8,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't a really old game (released for PC just a couple of months after XP x64 was out):

    GTA San Andreas works on Win7 x64 (both RC and RTM builds) without any issues (even XP or 2000 compatibility mode isn't needed). Before starting however, it changes the theme from Aero Glass to Aero Basic.
  12. SCHUMI_4EVER

    SCHUMI_4EVER Hackin 'n Slashin Staff Member Award Winner!

    Messages:
    28,455
    Likes Received:
    10
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  13. SCHUMI_4EVER

    SCHUMI_4EVER Hackin 'n Slashin Staff Member Award Winner!

    Messages:
    28,455
    Likes Received:
    10
    All games disable Aero whilst running....
  14. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because there are never versions...

    IT doesn't even need run as admin since all the GTA3 engine games save to My Games in documents.
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  15. KrossX

    KrossX クロスエックス

    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    27
    Eidos Interactive, Ion Storm
    Anachronox Works
    Daikatana Works

    Both work without having to do anything but update them. XD

    #EDIT:

    Atari, Quantic Dream
    Fahrenheit Works (Also known as, Indigo Prophecy)

    Rather new but has installation issues (copy protection driver fails to install, same for uninstall). Needs custom installer so update can be applied, and a fixed executable. (I think updated protection driver may work too for the latter instead)
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  16. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uses Tages, updates can be obtained from the site.
  17. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    KrossX, to save me some time :p you mind posting the Dev studio or publisher with the games :p
  18. KrossX

    KrossX クロスエックス

    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    27
    LOL, ok. I'll edit the post(s) with the info.

    #EDIT: Done. ^_^
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  19. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart NGemu Award Winner Award Winner!

    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks KrossX :D

    It looks like mud doesn't want to distribute his fixes for rogue squadron as they involve a no cd fix.....
  20. KrossX

    KrossX クロスエックス

    Messages:
    4,201
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hmm... the one for the fixes of crashes after missions? That and a compatibility fix "Emulate USER" (for pilot making issue) was quite needed. =S

    But yeah, same reason I won't post my "installers". Since I'm lazy to make them read the files from the original media. >_<
  21. YugiFann

    YugiFann New Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Click properties on the Shortcut of a program that doesn't work for Vista and Chose comp tab then Chose Windows XP.

    oh and

    I Run those on my Vista and XP (i have both) and they both work without the comp method thought and Without patches.

Share This Page